Home > VIP > REVIEW: VIP episode 16 (31-32) Final

REVIEW: VIP episode 16 (31-32) Final

REVIEW: VIP episode 16 (31-32) Final

Well, well, well, we have made it to the final episode! And let me tell you, it was a bit of a whomp whomp for me. I almost feel like I have whiplash from how hard this show slammed on the breaks. But let me recap it so that you can form your own opinions!

We started in the hospital where Jung-sung tells Sung-joon that they should end things right there. Jung-sun goes back to work where all her colleagues are happy to see her okay.

Jung-sun meets with the CEO and tells her that she no longer wants to take her revenge. The CEO tells her that is unfortunate because it would be better for this news to be broken by the wife.

Then we see that the CEO ended up breaking the news anyway (through someone else). SO Sung-joon’s affair with Yuri and the secret stock accounts all make National news. Or at least citywide news. So now, everywhere Sung-joon or Yuri go in the company, they are stared at.

This affects the VP as well as he and Sung-joon watched the news as it broke. The entire situation is a cluster F* for the VP. He ends up getting removed from his position by his father who tells his other son not to let any more nonsense happen in the company. Hire good people! He tells his daughter to keep doing a wonderful job as CEO.

Jung-sun makes peace with her mother while walking in a park, talks with Sung-joon briefly where he apologizes, and starts to pack up all of Sung-joon’s things in their apartment.

Yuri gets another ultimatum from her father to dump Sung-joon until he gets his divorce. She ends up asking him to teach her to drive and then tearfully dumps him at an outdoor drinking tent because she thinks he is always sad when he is around her due to her being a reminder of his infidelities. She does not want to continue the relationship anymore.

At home, Sung-joon and Jung-sun have a heart to heart about their entire relationship. After that conversation, Sung-joon takes all of his boxes from their home and moves them into his new place. While unpacking them, he sees an old camera and ends up getting that film developed which show simple happy moments of him and Jung-sun. He bursts into tears when he sees them.

As far as how things shook out at the company, all of the VP’s people were fired. Jung-sun is praised by the CEO but knows that she will not be a person to her like Sung-joon was to the VP, because Jung-sun does not want that. So she tells her she is fine with it as she tells Jung-sun to just do her work well, as she always does.

Months later, we see that Mina has her baby and her husband decides to leave work for paternity leave so she can keep working. Hyun-ah moves in with a very happy Jin-ho, and Jung-sun talks with her fathers friend about how she is happy in her single life right now.

We also see that Yuri is on her way to America. Her father wishes her safe travels on the phone.

The last scene is of Jung-sun at a funeral of a VIP member. She sees Jung-sun there so they walk outside together and pleasantly chat with the snow falling softly on their umbrella’s. They both wish each other well and walk away in opposite directions.

And that is how it ended! I know a bit of a womp womp ending for me. It is also kind of a wtf with how Yuri didn’t really have anything devastating happen to her as repercussion for her involvement in this affair. But that might also be pretty realistic in how chaebols lives are so different from non-chaebols. Which is what VIP was all about.

PREVIOUS V.I.P REVIEWS

Drama Milk contains ads and affiliate links that keep the lights on over here. The ads use cookies to aid in your viewing experience. If you like what you see then consider whitelisting us from your adblocking software so we can keep doing what we do!

20 Comments

  1. BP
    December 24, 2019 / 11:39 am

    I am disappointed with this ending, I wanted Yuri to get a bad ending. But I guess in a way it was bad, because she didn’t get to be with Sung-Joon.

    • Omg
      December 24, 2019 / 12:29 pm

      As expected, korean drama does not know how to give a realistic proper ending. I haven’t seen the finale, but I already expected the last episode would suck like all other drama endings. It felt like the writers got lazy and tired. Open ended ending. After the 15 episode build up, it was pfft in the end. Oh well.

      • Helen
        December 24, 2019 / 3:41 pm

        Totally agree, what a disappointing ending, after watching the wife suffers for 15 episodes I feel the writer went too far with this drama. It could have ended so much better. Now that I read the recap I have know desire to see the final episode

    • Yuri
      December 25, 2019 / 1:47 pm

      I think yuri is pitiful. She portrat a desperate girl who merely wants love. Love should not be a punishment. She didn’t have what she wants, still miserable until she flys to America. People should be more forgiving. People made mistakes and deserve to learn a lesson. I like the characters, showing all human flaws and how difficult it is to handle emotions and imperfection when comes to doing the right thing. Ending was good, a married couple once love each other respect each others’love till their end of seperation and not everyone shall go down their hatred road. Great actors, great script, great directors.

  2. Juan
    December 24, 2019 / 12:20 pm

    Last conclusion: the writer is the mistress and this was her own story xD
    By the way is cheating a trend in Korea these days? there are a lot of dramas dealing with affairs. They are alomost normalizing it.
    Anyway thank you so mach fo the recap you are doing a great job! Happy holidays

  3. Kdrama-Chick
    December 24, 2019 / 1:44 pm

    Imo the title of this show should have been Greed & Consequences instead of VIP🤷🏻‍♀️

  4. Kdrama-Chick
    December 24, 2019 / 1:56 pm

    Also…I’m so disappointed in how VIP was wrapped up. I feel like I felt with 12 Nights, the show had excellent potential, but towards the last several episodes it’s like the writer/s got writers block or something and lost motivation to fulfill that potential to the end.

  5. AlysaBaba
    December 24, 2019 / 3:37 pm

    Very anticlimactic. Then again – I “unrealistically” always hope for the same quality of directing and writing like Lee Eung-bok and Kim Eun-sook (Descendants of the Sun, Guardian: The Lonely and Great God, and Mr. Sunshine).

  6. Gayl
    December 24, 2019 / 4:49 pm

    I want a season 2. Redemption. Together again. Yuri tries to interfere again. But this time fails. Too much of a bummer to end here.

  7. fria
    December 24, 2019 / 5:34 pm

    I wish they showed Jung-Sun getting her happy ending. I know she had to be single for while, but I wish they did a long time jump where we could have seen her at least find someone who was the partner she deserved (I lowkey root for Sang Woo, but could’ve been anyone). The drama was so sad most of the time that we needed something happy to end with, but it seemed like she was still incredibly sad.

  8. fria
    December 24, 2019 / 5:37 pm

    Also, I think Yuri got what she deserved as much as she could considering her chaebol status- she was alone in the end, with no one really to count on – and that’s what she wanted to avoid the most. Probably one of her worst fear.

    • Janice
      December 26, 2019 / 3:10 am

      I agree. I also think that by choosing to break up with Park Sung Jung she showed that she didn’t want to be a On Yu Ri but a Ha Yu Ri. I think another fear of her was being a regular person instead of chaebol.

  9. KMC
    December 24, 2019 / 7:37 pm

    I thought the ending was anti-climatic in that there really were no resolutions other than Jung-Sun found peace after a divorce. I thought the acting was unbelievably good but to show the to-be ex-husband grieving in episode 16 made me want to scream. Throughout the series, the cheating husband showed very little emotion towards his wife….no empathy for her plight and lacked caring for her circumstances. I get that about the character. But, in the last episode, to show grief? Two thumbs down to the writer that tried to instill viewer sympathy at the last moment for the character.

    • Miranda
      December 25, 2019 / 1:52 pm

      Realistic, though. Lots of cheaters seem to have self-justifying blinders on, right up until the point that they lose everything. They live in a fantasy world where they think that somehow, they’re going to be able to keep most of what they have. It’s only when they well and truly have lost all of the excitement and novelty, and are either completely alone or stuck in a full-time relationship with the person they only wanted as a fling, that they really realize what they’ve done.

      I don’t think the reaction is grief, though – more like self-pity. He’s looking at something that he not only lost, but the only reason it’s gone is entirely HIS FAULT. People tend to feel very, very sorry for themselves when they’ve screwed up their own lives that badly.

    • yuri
      December 25, 2019 / 1:53 pm

      Have you not been in that situation before?One in denial but still hold love and your past with the other half brought back memories and when you go back and see it, you will break down. But that doesn’t mean you can go back in time to make everything okay. Only people who has been in similar emotions will understand why he broke down that last scene. He was wrong and he knew but that doesn’t mean what they had together from past means nothing to him.

    • Drama Queen
      December 25, 2019 / 8:29 pm

      His grief was still selfish in my opinion since he realised he lost out on both his Wife and Mistress. As for Yuri – as soon as she realised that she could not have both money (and the power that came with it) and love, she chose money. She would be the heir to the Un Sung empire and she couldn’t lose that. If she truly loved SJ- she would have ran away with him – their affair has been exposed as well as his wrong doings so there wasn’t anything stopping him from leaving with her. Really both Yuri and SJ are selfish but SJ is paying a bigger price while she gets a slap on the wrist, if you could even consider it such.

      Overall – I was happy with JS’s ending. She found herself in a good place. Loved HA’s and JH’s story – you get a feeling that these two will treat their relationship honestly and last longer than SJ and JS did.

    • Anonymous
      January 1, 2020 / 6:14 pm

      I agree very, very poor ending . No type of closure for the many unanswered questions . Why was he so cruel to his wife? Did he really love his wife. Why did he not beg for forgiveness? Why wasn’t their marriage worth saving? Why did he not take action when he found out Yuri sent the text. This was such a hateful Drama towards a marriage that could have been salvaged. What type of message were the writers trying to send. Even if she did not take him back a second chance to redeem himself should have been allowed.

  10. Miamaw
    December 24, 2019 / 9:00 pm

    It is an ending I can live with. The good guys had a “happily ever after”. The bad guys will live with regret. JS was a strong woman who realized revenge was not the answer.
    Please don’t bash the actors who played the bad guys. They “ dealt the cards played to them”.

  11. Anonymous
    December 27, 2019 / 7:09 am

    As much as I loved the ending for Jung Sun my homegirl finally found peace not by revenge but by letting go and moving on.

    I still need to vent my frustrations. I mean the same girl that clung to Sung Joon like it’s her life line when the affair was first revealed dropped him like a hot potato when she knew that she would lose her chaebol status real fast.

    TBH, Yuri’s car needs to be run by a truck on the way to the airport or something. Lmao. That would have been a perfect ending.

  12. Mark wein
    January 9, 2020 / 1:02 am

    I really like this drama serial. There’s alot good stuff going on in this drama, but WOMAN only focus on the unsatisfactory ending. The writer done a good job of showing a woman how to make peace with her unfaithful partner and move on with her life. Showing her seeking revenge or having a new partner is super unrealistic ending that doesn’t happen in Real life…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: