Home > Awaken > REVIEW: Awaken Episode 9 (With Full Series Breakdown)

REVIEW: Awaken Episode 9 (With Full Series Breakdown)

REVIEW: Awaken Episode 9 (Includes Series Breakdown)
He looks like a puppy…

This episode is all about information. We get information on the serial killer, and how White Night currently finds kids to experiment on. It’s a lot to take in, and incredibly disturbing, so I hope you were prepared when you pressed play.


Yes to finding out Moon Jae-woong is the serial killer

I had a feeling he was, but the reveal is still exciting. Especially when we get a shot of him sitting behind Kim Young-joon, Baek Seung-jae, Park Gyu-tae, and Choi Yong-suk while they’re lucid dreaming. His motive seems to be a mix of killing bad people who don’t get jail time, and White Night affiliates. The tragedy is since Jae-woong is probably suffering from dissociative identity disorder (DID), at least part of him is innocent.

I have a theory that his milder persona (aka his Dr. Jekyll) is the older boy he was with at the beginning of the episode. Or something along those lines. The plot is thickening, so I hope Jamie and the gang are careful, because the murderer is right under their noses.


Yes to Hye-won realizing her dad works for White Night

I feel so bad for her! I can’t imagine finding out your dad essentially murders children. That would land me in therapy forever. Now the question is: what is she going to do about it? And why did her fingerprint unlock the computer with the video evidence in the first place? Is it simply because she’s Kong Il-do’s daughter? Or is my theory of her being even more closely related to White Night correct?

Okay, those were several questions, but I’ve come to realize that’s what this drama is all about. It answers one question then poses a bajillion more.


REVIEW: Awaken Episode 9 (Includes Series Breakdown)

Yes to what we know so far

It’s been a wild ride, but the plot’s coming together like one of those intimidating thousand-piece puzzles.

Here’s what we know so far:

  • White Night experimented on the kids to create humans who could beat aging and cheat death.
  • Jung-woo, Jamie, and Jae-woong are all from White Night. (Why do all of their names start with a “J”? Was there an explanation I missed?).
  • As a kid, Jung-woo outsmarted the White Night doctors, and came up with the perfect formula for the experiments. But knowing it would be used for evil, erased part of it. White Night currently uses what was left in their modern day experiments.
  • Jung-woo is the one who sent reporter Lee Ji-wook the notices about the upcoming murders.
  • Jae-woong is the serial killer, and presumably the one who sent the videos of the victims’ death to Ji-wook. He seems to have multiple personalities.
  • Hye-won’s dad works for White Night.
  • The 6th forewarned murder victim is Lee Byeong-sun. He was a member of the White Night foundation and also the director of Seoul Hangang Hospital.
  • Seoul Hangang Hospital has affiliated foster homes. White Night is taking kids from these foster homes under the guise of them getting adopted, and experimenting on them. (Which is pure evil, plain and simple).

There are a few other plot points, but this is what we know about the main one.


My “no” is the same as last week

How can it not be when all three main characters went a whole episode without seeing or speaking to one another?

Again, I understand the solo investigating to a certain extent, but too much of it is making the drama feel disjointed. And the audience is being robbed of seeing the characters interact and strengthen their bonds. One of my favorite things about police procedurals is the teamwork that goes into solving cases, but we’re not getting much of that in this drama. At least from the main characters.


Now that we know the serial killer is Jae-woong, I hope we get a deeper look into his DID, and his life post the White Night massacre.

I’d also like to see Jung-woo, Hye-won, and Jamie in the same room if that’s not too much to ask.

More Awaken Reviews

Drama Milk contains ads and affiliate links that keep the lights on over here. The ads use cookies to aid in your viewing experience. If you like what you see then consider whitelisting us from your adblocking software so we can keep doing what we do!

15 Comments

  1. WPB
    December 30, 2020 / 11:24 am

    BTW, can we request V to update the Character Chart? LOL. They have since introduced more characters and some seem to potentially play some bigger role down the road.

    The freelance investigator is interesting. Jung-Woo has used her help before and the reporter is using her to get information as well.

    I also wonder what’s the deal with the president secretary’s son. Is he just a drug addict or is he one of the “special kids”?

    Hae-Won is teaming up with the reporter (reluctantly). I guess they know they can use help from each other. It’s interesting to see how their dynamics has changed since the earlier episodes.

    • Adri
      Author
      December 30, 2020 / 1:19 pm

      V’s pretty swamped, but I’ll mentioned the chart to her 🙂 I like Jung-woo and Ji-wook’s informant as well. She kind of reminds me of Hyeon-yi from Itaewon Class. Although it could just be the short hair lol.

      I feel like Oh Jung-hwan’s son definitely could be one of the special kids he took home.

  2. Anonymous
    December 30, 2020 / 11:44 pm

    It would have been better if Hye-won, Jung-Woo and Jamie worked together to get better results. I notice that the three main characters are working separately.. Actually It’s been Ep 11 and it seems that there’s no have much exposure to them together. It would be better na 16 ep up to kase sobrang bitin talaga. I want more depth relationship of the main char. In my case it is not easy to decide because I ship for Jung woo and Jamie they have a good chemistry from the start, n talaga. I want more dept relationship of the main lead but in my case it is difficult to decide because I ship for Jung woo and Jamie they have a good chemistry from the start and also they need to revive their childhood frienship.. See how Jung Woo smiled when he saw a young girl and boy playing and then he remembered their childhood memories with Jamie.

    Srs how should I feel huh? but if Jung Woo and Hye woon in the end. It is okay for me I will take a risk parin till the end. Kahit na masakit panunuorin ko parin. Kase sobrang addicted and unpredictable ng storyline eh.

    • Adri
      Author
      December 31, 2020 / 12:20 am

      Yes! I agree with you. It would’ve been better to see Jung-woo, Jamie, and Hye-won working together! Like the Avengers! Hahaha.

      I ship Jung-woo and Jamie too. I know that won’t happen, but I would’ve loved to see their friendship deepen. I also need to see more between Jung-woo and Hye-won to get invested in her crush. They’ve barely spent any time together. I think they spent the first episode and a half together, and that was it.

  3. WPB
    December 31, 2020 / 11:27 am

    I am going to rewatch this drama from the beginning this weekend. So far I finished ep 1 and 2 and I realized I missed a lot of the hints they placed here and there the first time. (I got misdirection a lot. LOL). There are more clues than I realized that’re right there but as I said before, the show is fast pace and with the much dialogs in many scenes, I was focusing on reading the close captions and that doesn’t help me pay attention to the clues. (the big disadvantage of not knowing Korean).
    I do enjoy the first scenes when Jung-Woo, Jamie and Hye-won are together – the site at the train track, the grocery store and when Jamie shows up the first time at the Police Station. The police station scene is a lot of fun. I think the first time she consciously/subconsciously treating Jamie as a potential threat for her one-sided feeling to Jung-Woo. We see more of her hidden feeling unfold in the following episodes as she starts examining her feeling and to the point it becomes so obvious that she confront Jung-Woo and asks him in a later episode.
    I think Jamie hasn’t recall her childhood memories in the first 2 episode yet. But Jung-Woo is the one who seems to toy with the two females. However, I think his 1st priority is the White Light foundation.

    • Adri
      Author
      December 31, 2020 / 12:50 pm

      Yes! I did enjoy those scenes where the three were together, that’s why I was sad watching their joint screen time dwindle to nothing. But they’ll probably end up working together again soon enough. It’s going to take their collective effort to bring down White Night.

      Jung-woo seems to toy with a lot of people. He’s so cunning. That’s part of what makes his character interesting.

    • Anonymous
      January 1, 2021 / 5:38 pm

      I agree with you because I also watch those previous episodes when you wasted even a second, it seems like you missed the whole episode of the series. Jung woo’s character is very interesting he has a hard time guessing what he is thinking or doing. Waiting for ep 10 reviews.

  4. Anonymous
    January 3, 2021 / 11:33 pm

    Awaken is not focus in a Romance. In a previous ep explained Seolhyun who and where she’s like Jung Woo. We will see in the following ep if they both invest their love for each other. (If I’m not mistaken or It should not be going to that level) I’m just wondering Why some part between Jaime and Jung woo are so intense of their stare. That’s why their chemistry is really unexpected and undeniable. I hope they have a next drama together.

    • WPB
      January 4, 2021 / 8:41 am

      I rewatched ep. 1-10 over the weekend. 🙂 Besides that one episode where Gong Hye-Won’s feeling to Jung Woo was explained, in another episode there was a quick self confession of Jung Woo, where he talked to himself and saying that he has always been clear what to do and what to say. But he wasn’t sure this time. In another occasion he told Hye-Won that she shouldn’t invest on him and find someone else. (the scene where she was rejected even before she confessed). And he somewhat regretted saying it. Obviously a lot have happened since and I am sure we won’t be disappointed.

      As the connection between Jamie and Jung Woo being so intense, I think it’s their connection in the past. Jamie is the first one who picked up Hye-Won’s feeling towards Jung Woo. However, I don’t think she consider Hye-Won is a competition as she has no romantic feeling towards Jung Woo.

      • Adri
        Author
        January 4, 2021 / 10:45 am

        Ah, yes. I remember those scenes. They certainly tell the audience about Hye-won’s feelings, but as far as actually getting us emotionally invested in them, I think we needed a little more. From a writing standpoint, it’s easier to get the audience invested when you show the characters developing that crush/falling in love. If the character already has the crush when the drama starts, then you have to get the audience invested by giving them lots of screen time together. But I understand why that’s difficult to accomplish for Awaken since it’s not a romance-based drama. I’m still happy with it regardless.

        I agree about the connection between Jung-woo and Jamie being strong because of their childhood friendship. I think the actors have a natural chemistry too. I’m off work today (my day job) so I’ll be able to catch up and watch the new episode. I can’t wait!

        • Anonymous
          January 5, 2021 / 10:37 pm

          hoping that Namgoong Min and Lee Chung-ah will have the next drama together. I dont know but as time goes on I want to watch Namgoong Min even more. I hope many can appreciate his drama like this Awaken. I highly recommend this kdrama to those who like a Mistery Crime Drama rather than Romantic teen Drama.

          • Adri
            Author
            January 6, 2021 / 4:21 am

            I hope Namgoong Min and Lee Chung-ah do another drama together too! Their chemistry is amazing.

            Namgoong Min always chooses interesting roles and dramas. I’ve been watching him since he was a “second lead actor”, so I was happy when he started getting recognized for his talent and getting cast in lead roles.

  5. Jyjaddicted
    January 8, 2021 / 1:49 pm

    I’m still confused how did Jang woo know about the murder and forwarned code to lee jin wook… when the one who murder them is jae woong.. can somebody explain pleeaseee thankk youuuu

    • Adri
      Author
      January 8, 2021 / 2:00 pm

      The drama hasn’t really revealed that, but I suspect we’ll find out soon.

    • Jyjaddicted
      January 8, 2021 / 2:05 pm

      *Jung woo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: